

The 39th Design Automation Conference • June 10 - 14, 2002 • New Orleans, LA

Marie R. Pistilli Women in FDA Achievement Award

• Ann Rincon - Senior Engineer, IBM Corp.,

Microelectronic Division, Burlington, VT

For her significant contributions in helping women advance in the field of DA technology.

2002 IEEE CASS Fellows

• Georges G. E. Gielen - Katholieke Univ., Leuven, Belgium For contributions to computer-aided design and design automation of analog and mixed-signal integrated circuits and systems.

• Sharad Malik - Princeton Univ., Princeton, NJ For contributions to electronic design automation techniques in logic

and embedded software synthesis.

• Lawrence T. Pileggi - Carnegie Mellon Univ., Pittsburgh, PA For contributions to simulation and modeling of integrated circuits.

• Kaushik Roy - Purdue Univ., West Lafayette, IN For contributions to the power-aware design of digital circuits.

• Ellen June Yoffa - IBM Research, Yorktown Heights, NY For technical, professional, and business leadership in electronic design automation.

CAD Transactions Best Paper Award

Floorplanning Using a Tree Representation, IEEE Transactions on Computer Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems, vol. 20, no. 2, pg. 281-289, February 2001.

Pei-Ning Guo - Mentor Graphics Corp., San Jose, CA Toshihiko Takahashi - Niigata Univ., Niigata, Japan Chung-Kuan Cheng - Univ. of California at San Diego, La Jolla, CA Takeshi Yoshimura - NEC Corp., Kawasaki, Japan

(2)

The Association for Computing Machinery/Special Interest Group on Design Automation (ACM/SIGDA) Distinguished Service Awards

• Cheng-Kok Koh - Purdue Univ., West Lafayette, IN For exemplary service to ACM/SIGDA and the EDA industry -- as Co-director of SIGDA's CDROM Project, as SIGDA's Travel Grants Coordinator, and as Editor of the SIGDA Newsletter.

• Steven P. Levitan - Univ. of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA For over a decade of service to ACM/SIGDA and the EDA industry - as DAC University Booth Coordinator, Student Design Contest organizer, founder and promoter of SIGDA's web server, and most recently, Chair of ACM/SIGDA from 1997 to 2001.

ACM/SIGDA Outstanding New Faculty Award

• Charlie Chung-Ping Chen - Univ. of Wisconsin, Madison, WI For a junior faculty member early in his academic career who demonstrates outstanding potential as an educator and researcher in the field of electronic design automation. The 39th Design Automation Conference • June 10 - 14, 2002 • New Orleans, LA

Awards

The P. O. Pistilli Scholarship for Advancement in Computer Science and Electrical Engineering Undergraduate Scholarships The objective of the P. O. Pistilli Scholarship program is to increase the pool of professionals in Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering and Computer Science from under-represented groups (women, African American, Hispanic, Native American, and physically challenged). In 1989, ACM Special Interest Group on Design Automation (SIGDA) began providing the program. Beginning in 1993, the Design Automation Conference provided the funds for the scholarship. SIGDA and MP Associates, Inc. annually administer the program for DAC. DAC normally funds two or more \$4000 scholarships, renewable up to 5 years, to graduating high school seniors. In 1999 the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society also began to sponsor these scholarships.

The 2002 winners will be announced at the Conference. The 2001 winners were:

Tenisha Evonne Austin - attending the Univ. of Michigan in Ann Arbor Sylvia Blythe Glassco - attending Yale Univ.

Joelle B. Arnold - attending Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering Jieyu Hao - attending Massachusetts Institute of Tech.

Mariya Sergeyevna Sadakova - attending Macalester College

Todd R. Roman - attending the Univ. of Arizona

Erika Lin - attending Massachusetts Institute of Tech.

For more information about the P. O. Pistilli scholarship, please contact Dr. Cherrice Traver, EE/CS Dept., Union College, Schenectady, NY 12308, email: traverc@union.edu.

Design Automation Conference Graduate Scholarships

Each year the Design Automation Conference sponsors several \$24,000 scholarships to support graduate research and study in Design Automation (DA), with emphasis in "design and test automation of electronic and computer systems". Each scholarship is awarded directly to a university for the Faculty Investigator to expend in direct support of one or more DA graduate students. The criteria for granting such a scholarship expanded in 1996 to include financial need. The criteria are: the academic credentials of the student(s); the quality and applicability of the proposed research; the impact of the award on the DA program at the institution; and financial need. Preference is given to institutions that are trying to establish new DA research programs.

Prof. Florin Balasa, Univ. of Illinois, Chicago, IL Students: Sarat Chandra Maruvada, Karthik Krishnamoorthy Novel Exploration Techniques in Device-Level Placement for Analog and Radio Frequency Blocks

Prof. Dinesh K. Bhatia, Univ. of Texas at Dallas, Richardson, TX Students: Shankar Balachandaran, Parivallal Kannan Congestion and Routability Estimation for Large ASICs

Prof. Krishnendu Chakrabarty, Duke Univ., Durham, NC Student: Lei Li

Algorithms and Tools for Plug-and-Play System-on-a-Chip Test Automation

Prof. Ingrid Verbauwhede, Univ. of California, Los Angeles, CA Student: Patrick Schaumont

Domain Specific Tools and Methods for Application in Security Processor Design

Information on next year's DAC scholarship award program will be available on the DAC web page at: http://www.dac.com.